About us

Welcome to Llwynderw

The Parish of Llwynderw is a Church in Wales Anglican denomination within the Diocese of Swansea & Brecon. It’s a suburban seaside parish located to the west of Swansea city centre, near the Mumbles, an area which marks the beginning of the beautiful Gower coastline.
Llwynderw was established in 1974, with two churches that were previously members of the then larger Parish of Oystermouth: Holy Cross and Clyne Chapel. Its first Incumbent was a young Anthony Pierce, who went on to be Consecrated in 1999 as the eighth Bishop of the Diocese.
Throughout its existence, Llwynderw has continually striven to spread the Gospel throughout the communities that it serves in partnership with other Christians in the area. It’s a forward-looking parish with God at the heart of its life and is now part of the Mumbles Ministry Area.
The Welsh name, ‘Llwynderw’, is a compound noun that translates roughly into English as ‘Oak Grove’. This image is captured in both the parish banner – a Celtic Cross with oak leaves and acorns at its base – and in the natural vibrancy of the areas that the parish serves: Blackpill, Mayals, and West Cross.

The current and former Incumbents of our parish are:
1974-1992 – Anthony Edward Pierce
1993-2006 – George Edward Bennett
2007-2015 – Daniel Barri Evans
2015-2020 – Jonathan Byron Davies
2020 to date – Hywel David Griffiths